Search Google Appliance

Faculty & Student Achievements, Summer 2012

Faculty & Staff

Neal Wallace, Jason Newsom, and Jennifer Dill were all promoted and tenured as Professors in the College. 

Jennifer Allen was made the Director of Institute in Sustainable Solutions.

Judy Sobel was awarded the Oregon Masters of Public Health Program Excellence in Teaching Award.

Portland State Civic Engagement awards were given to Kim Travis and Sarah Giles for Oregon Solutions and Betty Izumi for Harvest for Healthy Kids.

Melody Ellis Valdini received the 2011 Carrie Chapman Catt Prize for Research on Women and Politics.

Sheila Martin has been awarded a Fulbright research and teaching fellowship at the University of Ljubljana in the Faculty of Economics.  She will be teaching a course on the economics of science and technology policy and researching the implementation of the Slovenian National Innovation System.

For the first time this year the College presented Outstanding Teacher Awards.  These awards are based 100% on student input.  This year's Outstanding Teacher Awardees are:

Craig Carr, Political Science

Phil Cooper, Public Administration

Bob Lockwood, Criminology and Criminal Justice

Greg Schrock, Urban Studies and Planning

Claire Wheeler, Community Health


Each year Portland State awards campus wide honors to students for excellence in a variety of areas.  This year two of our graduates were recognized for their achievements – Sara Morrisey, MURP '12 received the President's Award for Outstanding Community Engagement and Amanda Phillips, MPH:HMP '12 was awarded the PSU Commendation Award for excellence in academics and scholarly work at the Master's level.  In addition, Amanda has been selected to receive a President's Award for Outstanding University Service.