Search Google Appliance

The EMPA Leadership Model

Our Executive MPA Program uses a leadership model that we have developed over the past 20 years and have successfully tested in the U.S., Japan, China, and Vietnam. Organized around the unique characteristics of public service, it requires the development of knowledge and skills in the following four areas of leadership competency.

1. Leading Yourself

  • Using leadership assessment tools to diagnose personal leadership strengths and weaknesses
  • Techniques for coaching and mentoring
  • Preparation of a leadership and career development plan

2. Leading Others

  • Team leadership knowledge and skills
  • Facilitation and conflict resolutions techniques
  • Motivation and recognition

3. Leading Organizations

  • Organizational structure and design
  • Managing organizational change
  • Managing for results

4. Leading Your Community

  • The legal and political environment of public organizations
  • Stakeholder analysis
  • Strategic partnerships and collaboration
  • Public service ethics