Search Google Appliance

About Our Graduates

Photo: Members of Cohort 2014, along with EMPA Mentors, at the 2016 CUPA Hooding Ceremony. 

2014 Cohort Graduates Honored at Awards Ceremony

Several members of the 2014 cohort were honored at the Hatfield School of Government's student awards ceremony on June 10th for their outstanding academic achievement.

Congratulations to the following graduates for their outstanding achievement:

  • Rachel Smith, Information Management Project Coordinator for the Oregon Department of Land Conservation & Development, received the award for Top GPA among the EMPA graduates.
  • Kyle Diesner, Policy Analyst at the Portland Bureau of Planning and Sustainablity, received an Award of Excellence: Academic Achievement for maintaining a cumulative GPA of 3.9 or higher throughout the EMPA program.
  • Teresa Plummer,Training Supervisor for the Department of Public Safety Standards and Training, received an Award of Excellence: Academic Achievement for maintaining a cumulative GPA of 3.9 or higher throughout the EMPA program.

Alumni in the News

  • Rachael Banks was elected director of Multnomah County's Health Families program when a team she led won a $3 million grant from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention to bridge the health gap between African Americans and white Americans. Read more here.
  • Terry Blosser, resident of Troutdale, seeks ADA compliance in city parks. Read more here.
  • According to Troy Costales, ODOT's Saftey Division Administrator, Oregon traffic deaths are the lowest since gas-rationing in the 1940s. Read more here.
  • Lessons from the Early Years: Debbie Ellis' personal journey into school-family-community partnerships. Read more here.
  • With help from Andrea Fogue, Oregon recieves a $3 million grant to boost manufacturing apprenticeships. Read more here.
  • Port of Newport Commissioners chose Port of Garibaldi Manager Kevin Greenwood to become the Port of Newport's new General Manager. Read more here.
  • Rocky Houston, Oregon State Parks and Recreation Department state trails coordinator, seeks to expand regional and scenic trails systems. Read more here.
  • Maggie Skenderian, Portland's watershed manager, focuses on reducing flooding along Johnson Creek. Read more here.
  • The Center for Public Service has awarded its inaugural Oregon Innovation Award to Metro to help develop a new inclusive public engagement model. Co-created by Metro senior public affairs specialist Peggy Morell and Sam Diez of land use advocacy nonprofit 1000 Friends of Oregon, the model aims to improve Metro's public engagment approach. Read more here. 
  • Elizabeth Woody recently became Oregon's 8th Poet Laureate. Read more here.

    EMPA Graduates have come from a wide variety of organizations, including:

    • City of Eugene
    • Clackamas County
    • Multnomah County Fire District
    • Education Northwest
    • Oregon Air National Guard
    • City of Portland
    • Federal Railway Administration
    • City of Madras
    • TriMet
    • Army Corps of Engineers
    • Jefferson County
    • Oregon AFL-CIO
    • Portland Police Bureau
    • Oregon State University
    • Salem-Keizer Public Schools
    • Oregon Health and Science University
    • Coos and Curry County Circuit Courts
    • Beacon Hill Water and Sewer
    • Providence Medical Group
    • Forest Grove Police Department
    • City of Beaverton
    • City of Lake Oswego
    • Portland Public Schools
    • Oregon Department of Corrections
    • Northwest Housing Alternatives
    • Lane Community College
    • Portland Housing Bureau
    • Clackamas River Water
    • Department of Human Services
    • Meyer Memorial Trust
    • Oregon Department of Transportation
    • Children's Cancer Association
    • Oregon Public Health Division
    • Metro
    • Occupational Safety and Health Administration
    • Northwest Energy Efficiency Alliance
    • Multnomah County Health Department
    • Bonneville Power Administration