Search Google Appliance


Black Studies Department Faculty & Staff

The Black Studies Department's distinguished faculty consists of recognized scholars in various fields of specialization covering African, Caribbean and African American issues.

Tenured Faculty

Shirley A. Jackson, Chair & Professor
XSB 147
503-725-9393
shja2@pdx.edu  

Derrais Carter, Assistant Professor
XSB 247
503-725-9055 
derrais@pdx.edu

Ethan Johnson, Associate Professor
XSB 243
ejohns@pdx.edu
503-725-5713 

E. Kofi Agorsah, Professor (Retired)
agorsahe@pdx.edu
503-725-5080 

Darrell Millner, Professor Emeritus
XSB 249
millnerd@pdx.edu
503-725-4008

Fixed-Term Faculty

Pedro Ferbel-Azcarate, Assistant Professor
XSB 245
pedro@pdx.edu

503-725-3052 

Roberta Hunte, Assistant Professor and Undergraduate Advisor
XSB 207
hunte@pdx.edu

503-725-3052

 

Joseph Smith-Buani, Senior Instructor II

XSB 245
smithbj@pdx.edu
503-725-3052

 

 

Adjunct Faculty

Walidah Imarisha, Instructor
XSB 250

walidah@pdx.edu

503-725-3472

 

Carmen Thompson, Instructor

XSB 250

mcarmen@pdx.edu

503-725-3472

 

Clare Washington, Instructor

XSB 250
clarew@pdx.edu

503-725-3472


Affiliated Faculty

Lisa Bates, Assistant Professor, Urban Studies and Planning

Maria DePriest, Associate Professor, English Department

Veronica Dujon, Professor, Sociology Department

Stephen Frenkel, Assistant Professor, International Studies: African and Latin American Studies

Samuel Henry, Professor, School of Gender, Race and Nation (Interim Director)/ School of Education: Curriculum and Instruction

Maude Hines, Associate Professor, English Department

Jose Padin, Associate Professor, Sociology Department

Primus St. John, Professor, English Department (Retired)

Jennifer Tappan, Assistant Professor, HIstory Department

Staff

Angela Canton, Administrative Assistant