Search Google Appliance


Black Studies Department Faculty & Staff

The Black Studies Department's distinguished faculty consists of recognized scholars in various fields of specialization covering African, Caribbean and African American issues.

Tenured Faculty

Shirley A. Jackson, Chair, Professor, and Undergraduate Advisor
PKM 147
503-725-9393
shja2@pdx.edu  

Derrais Carter, Assistant Professor
PKM 247
503-725-9055 
derrais@pdx.edu

Ethan Johnson, Associate Professor
PKM 243
ejohns@pdx.edu
503-725-5713 

Fixed-Term Faculty

Pedro Ferbel-Azcarate, Assistant Professor
PKM 245
pedro@pdx.edu

503-725-3052 

Roberta Hunte, Assistant Professor
PKM 207
hunte@pdx.edu

503-725-3052

 

Joseph Smith-Buani, Senior Instructor II

PKM 245
smithbj@pdx.edu
503-725-3052

 

Emeriti Faculty

E. Kofi Agorsah, Professor Emeritus
agorsahe@pdx.edu
503-725-5080 

Darrell Millner, Professor Emeritus
PKM 249
millnerd@pdx.edu
503-725-4008

Adjunct Faculty

Turiya Autry, Instructor (Beginning Fall 2016)

PKM 250

503-725-3472

 

Carmen Thompson, Instructor

PKM 250

mcarmen@pdx.edu

503-725-3472

 


Affiliated Faculty

Lisa Bates, Assistant Professor, Urban Studies and Planning

Veronica Dujon, Professor, Sociology Department

Stephen Frenkel, Assistant Professor, International Studies: African and Latin American Studies

Samuel Henry, Professor, School of Gender, Race and Nation (Interim Director)/ School of Education: Curriculum and Instruction

Maude Hines, Associate Professor, English Department

Yves Labissiere, Associate Professor, Community Heatlh, Urban and Community Affairs

Anoop Mirpuri, Assistant Professor, English Department

Jose Padin, Associate Professor, Sociology Department

Jennifer Tappan, Assistant Professor, HIstory Department

Staff

Angela Canton, Administrative Assistant